Make Your Own Fonts

Yesterday was ‘National Handwriting Day’ over in the USA, and I thought that I would let that inspire today’s blog post.

For those of you who haven’t yet seen the website that I made for my husband, go and check it out now! While you’re there, make sure you take an extra close look at the font that I used, as we made that font using Joe’s own handwriting! It’s something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time and so when I read about a fantastic site that allows you to make fonts from your own handwriting for FREE, I had to have a go. (Unfortunately, I have just found out (when going to find the link) that they are no longer offering this for free as they are now out of beta 😦 so apologies for getting you all excited!)

Firstly, we had to print out a chart for Joe to fill out with upper case letters, lower case letters, numbers and some punctuation and things. When this was complete we scanned it in, tidied it up a bit and then uploaded it to the site. Within seconds the site had turned it into a font… AMAZING!

Now I’m off to cry quietly to myself as I’ve missed the chance to make a font with my own handwriting!

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Make Your Own Fonts”

  1. The Bunny Maker Says:

    I’d love to have a go at that! I could make some kind of Bunny Font.

  2. Granny Ruth Says:

    How jealous am I? I want one!

  3. chickadee cards Says:

    How fabulolus! I would love to do that, although my writing is a bit of a mess!

  4. George's Mum Says:

    Amanda at http://www.kevinandamanda.com/fonts will also convert your handwriting to fonts!!

Leave a Reply

